About the Faculty


The Faculty of Science, comprising of nine departments has curricula that enhance the understanding of the core programmes. Through qualitative teaching and laboratory practical knowledge students are trained in various fields to contribute meaningfully to the society and earn a livelihood that enhances secured future.

Research programmes are geared towards solving environmental problems and collaboration with industries to meet the needs of the society.

With the founding of the University came the Faculty of Science as one of the foundation faculties. The two other faculties were Faculty of Law and Humanities and Faculty of Education. Adopting the National University Commission (NUC) Approved Minimum Academic Standard (AMAS), the Faculty commenced with the admission of its first set of its first set of students for the 1984/85 academic session for Bachelor of Science (BSc.) degrees in Biological and Chemical Sciences and Physical and Mathematical Sciences. In the 1989/90 academic session, the Department of Biological and Chemical Sciences was reorganized and renamed the Department of Botany and Microbiology, Department of Chemical Sciences and Department of Fisheries and Zoology upon the recommendation of the Faculty of Science and approved by the Vice-Chancellor.

The Department of Fisheries, Zoology, Microbiology, Botany, Mathematics, Computer Science, Physics, Biochemistry and Chemistry became independent in year 2000.

The Dean is the administrative head of the Faculty and oversees the academic and administrative affairs of the Faculty. The Dean is ably assisted by a Sub Dean, Heads of Departments and the Faculty Officer. The Heads of Departments are responsible through the Dean to the Vice-Chancellor for the smooth running of their Departments. The Faculty Officer is the head of the non-academic staff of the Faculty. He is the Secretary to all the Faculty Board and Committees. He also ensures the implementation of their decisions and directives.

The Faculty Finance Officer takes charge of the bursary activities relating to issuance of receipts for payment of school fees, ensuring compliance with the approved budget and other financial activities in the Faculty.


The Faculty of Science is at the heart of the main terrain of LASU main campus. It has nine [9] academic departments:
  • Biochemistry
  • Botany
  • Chemistry
  • Computer Science
  • Fisheries
  • Microbiology
  • Mathematics
  • Physics
  • Zoology

Visit Faculty Website